It’s the End of the Convention as We Know It; and I Will Fly. (home)

Hey everybody, it’s Travis and I am back with my recap of the final day of the NACA Live 2024 convention. Today started off like any other, with the only difference being my first ed block was before the 1st showcase. The first ed block, steps for inclusive events, talked about a bunch of things there we already do, but I did learn how we can take those things to the next level. Implementing these techniques would not only help Program Council, but it would also help a bunch of other organizations and BSU. If I told you that the first showcase was mind blowing would be true, but it would also be an understatement. The magicians were impressive, but if you know me, then you would know that my favorite part was the drag show. If PC is ever looking to branch out when looking for drag Queens, then you can look no further than Once Upon a drag queen. After that, we went to subway for lunch, and I will say but I did like it, but I do think it could have been a little bit better. I say this because I was going to get a bacon, ham, and cheese sandwich, a six-inch cookie, a six-inch pretzel, and a drink. I was only able to get the sandwich and the drink because there were no cookies or pretzels already made when we got there. The chef did ask if I could wait for him to make them, but I did not want to be the guy that made everybody wait. After lunch, I had my final ed block, maximizing your small budget, and once again, I was provided with valuable information. Even though Program Council does not have a small budget, we can still use these techniques to put together low-cost events so we can put more money into bigger events. After that, I went to the final showcase which was a mix of all the different types of acts we’ve seen for each of the showcases. My favorite part was the beginning because it was Taylor Swift karaoke mix with the world’s largest game of keepy-uppy. During my last time at the marketplace, I was finally able to make it to the top of the Rockwall, but climbing was still a challenge. The marketplace is definitely one of my favorite parts of the conference and I cannot wait to see what they have to offer next year. Then, we all win to dinner, which was interesting because it was my first time ever trying Thai food and it was not Awful, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to try it again. Since I’m not a sauce or spice person, I just ordered the plane fried rice with chicken. The last the showcase was pretty different because it was only one act, the aux cord wars. It was fun, but the only downside for me is that it was one of the louder showcases. Luckily, a woman outside was kind enough to offer me some ear plugs which did help. All in all, NACA was one of my favorite experiences for Program Council, and I’m hoping that I get to do it next year.

(And I want to do the rocky thing on the rocky steps.)

Leave a comment