Final Day of NACA! :(

I’m incredibly disappointed that NACA is coming to a close, but it was an unforgettable weekend!

The first ed. session I attended today was called “Sustainability and Leadership”. This presentation was probably my favorite of all of the sessions I attended at NACA because I really seemed to get a lot out of it. The presenters discussed the importance of a sustainable campus and organization and gave us tips and ideas about how to make this happen. Sustainability basically means meeting  needs of the current generation without taking away resources for future generations. First, they discussed current environmental problems, such as warmer climate, fossil fuels, agriculture, water, etc. and we learned how each of these things connects to another. They also talked about what it means to be a social agent and how they work. The best part of the session was having discussions with other students about what kind of sustainable programs we have on our own campuses. I really liked the idea of having an “Eco Rep” within SGA or PC to keep track of how eco-friendly our programs really are and how we can improve on doing this. I know I’ll definitely be going a bit “greener” when we head back to BSU!

The second ed. session I attended was called “How Do I Get More Students to My Events?” The idea behind this session is pretty self-explanatory – basically, the presenters gave us some ideas about how to target an event’s audience and keep them coming back to future events. The presentation was effective because of the specificity of examples that they gave us. They discussed different ideas involving incentive programs and how to track attendance to determine stats of who likes what kind of events. Some great ideas they had to entice people to attend their events were things like swiping a student ID to give away prizes and and track attendance for every event and something they called “Everett Bucks” in which students are given fake money for attending events and then encouraged to use these dollars at an auction for great prizes at the end of the semester. Through these unique incentive ideas, the organization is ultimately promoting their brand and gaining a new following of students.

All in all, this weekend was fantastic, and I’m so glad I got to be part of the BSU delegation. I got to meet a lot of really great people from BSU that I didn’t know too well before and bond even more with my PC buds (which I didn’t think was possible)! I loved hearing different perspectives on programming from other schools and swapping a million different ideas, as well as seeing some great performers and gaining some program ideas from the marketplace. I’m so proud of Lisa and want to congratulate her on her award!! And congrats also go to the delegation for winning Best Use of Theme for the school swap table!!! You guys are so awesome!!!! I’m so thankful that I had the opportunity to attend this conference, and I can’t wait to get back to Bridgewater to start putting some of these brand new ideas and initiatives into action 🙂

Leave a Reply

