DAY 1 Bring it on!

The first day was a complete whirlwind. So many things going on, so little time to do everything! So far getting my bearings on the way things go around here hasn’t been as difficult as I thought it would be. I had a great time at all the presentations, sessions, and showcases we went to today.

The Ed session I was originally going to go to was called From Band-Aids to Broken Bones, but that was cancelled, so I decided to join Nicole at A Walk in Our Shoes. I was really looking forward to going to the original session, but I’m really glad I ended up going to this one. I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want to do when I graduate from BSU lately. I’ve been tossing around the idea of going into Student Affairs. I’m in the early idea process, but this session today helped me look at the programming area of Student Affairs a lot more.

The session was lead by Diane Comstock of Fun Enterprises and Steve Pagios from Quinnipiac University. They have different experiences in the field of programming because Diane works as an associate and Steve works as an advisor. They had some great stories from their personal experiences. They started off by giving a little preview of what they would be talking about. This included giving us a better idea of programming after college, what does it mean to program for a living and some resources we can use when we start to think about grad school and our futures in programming.

Next they asked us what is programming? We made a list of different things including events for students on campus, getting others involved, helping to try new things, and creating leaders, among others.  They asked us why go into it? There were some great ideas, like it’s fun, an accomplishment, utilize strengths and weaknesses, and my favorite to improve students experience in college. Then we split into groups where we came up with lists of what we thought an associate was versus what an advisor was. From there we made Pro/Con lists for each of the positions.

Something that I really liked about this session was the personal account of both an associate and an advisor. I’ve never considered or thought about an associate’s job. It gave me a new look on that job. I also liked how they let us come up with the lists and then supported what we wrote with their own experiences. And I liked the rundown of their general workday. That in and of itself gives you good input on what they do.  I’m still not sure exactly what I’ll be doing after I graduate, but this session helped me have a better understanding and may have even gotten me a small step closer to figuring out if Student Affairs is for me.

Others highlights of the day included the craziness that was the Marketplace and the Showcases. It was cool getting a chance to see all those performers. I enjoyed most of them. I tried getting the lay of the land in the marketplace and I know that when I go tomorrow I’ll be doing more thinking about some performers or novelties we can bring next semester.  So far the energy of the conference itself has been living up to my expectation, now if we could just get the spirit stick!!

Until tomorrow (aka later on today) friends! School swap is tomorrow night 🙂

~Meghan

Leave a Reply

