NACA!

Hey Everyone!

My name is Kelly Harvey, I am a senior here at BSU with a psychology major and minor in sociology.  I am representing Program Committee, I have been lucky to have been a part of this organization since my freshman year and I am now the vice president of programming. I can say being in PC really has transformed my life, literally, had I not joined PC I probably would not have found my other involvements or be applying to grad schools for student affairs.  This is my second NACA regional conference that I have attended and I was able to attend part of the national conference last year. These experiences are amazing and so much fun and I am so happy to be a part of this again!

So here are the 3 things I am most excited for!

1. Presentations: Last regional conference I was fortunate enough to be selected to present an education session with Matt Miller and Rachel Freedenberg on Program Committee’s points system and Rachel, Katelyn Rapoza and I also presented for the Excellence in Programming award (which we won!).  I used to hate public speaking but the more I do it the better I get (I hope) and it actually is a great feeling that I can represent BSU and that people are interested in what we do in Program Committee.  This year I was selected to present two education sessions one with the lovely Jenn Deluca and Kathryn Gagnon and the other with the wonderful Katelyn Rapoza and Matt Miller and hopefully we will be selected to present again for excellence in programming!

2. A fresh perspective/Education Sessions: I am really excited for this conference for the educational sessions because like Katelyn I am going into this conference with a completely different perspective than what I had last year.  This year I also feel that since I have already gone to this conference before I can focus on things that I didn’t get time to last year and therefore bring back new and exciting things for PC!

3. New event ideas/working with rha and sga: I am very excited to go to NACA to look for new event ideas, as vice president of programming, this is something I am always trying to help the programming chairs with and hopefully I can come back with a lot more event ideas to try at BSU! Also I am really excited to go to this conference with RHA, SGA and SWAT! I think this is a great opportunity to build better relationships between our organizations and promote the quality of all of our programs for the BSU campus.

Well that is all I have for now! I can’t wait to see you all tomorrow! Yay NACA!!!

-Kelly

6 thoughts on “NACA!

  1. Kelly! You are an awesome public speaker! 🙂 And I am also so excited to be going with RHA, SGA, and SWAT representatives. I think this will be a great way to get some one the organizations to work together and will be a great bonding experience for all of us! I’m so excited for it!

  2. I hate public speaking too, but I really think PC has helped me out a lot with speaking in front of a large group of people. Just one more reason to love PC! Can’t wait for NACA!!

  3. I feel the same way about public speaking. Its soo scary getting up in front of so many people. But PC has definitely helped me gain more confidence in myself to share my ideas and become a leader. I can’t wait to learn even more at NACA!! So excited!:)

  4. You’re an awesome public speaker Kelly! I’m really excited to be working with the other organizations too! It’s going to be great for all of us in the long run I think too!

  5. Kelly! It’s awesome to hear you talk about the different organizations on campus working together. I always thought it would be awesome for us to team up more. I know RHA and PC team up every once in a while, but we could do so much more with SGA and SWAT as well. I’m excited to go and hopefully we can break some barriers! 😀

    -Rob

Leave a Reply

