First Blog Post Ever!!! :)

Gah this is so weird to be writing a blog post.  I feel like somehow I am going to mess this up…but here it goes!  🙂

Anyways, my name is Loryn (yeah it’s spelled weird, but I love it!).  I’m a Freshman here at BSU.  I’m double majoring in Early Childhood Ed and Psychology.  And last but certainly not least, I’m representing Program Committee (whoot whoot!) at the NACA Conference!  🙂

Sooo I’m really just super excited to be going to NACA in general, but I guess if I had to narrow it down to three individual things it would be…drum roll please…learning new leadership skills, seeing tons of different performers, and getting free stuff!

Thing 1:  I am looking forward to going to the education sessions because I feel as though they will help me better my leadership skills.  Specifically, I hope I can learn/enhance my abilities to work in a group, create timelines, and publicize events through creative media.  As leaders, I feel it is important for us to reflect on both how and why we do what we do.  There is always room to improve ourselves, and thereby our University.

Thing 2:  I am extremely enthused about seeing all sorts of different performers, like hypnotists, and especially comedians.  I am finding that in my Live Events subcommittee, we often struggle to brainstorm names of performers.  I feel like our pool to choose from needs to be bigger, so that we can pick the best ones possible.  And of course, I just want to be entertained.

Thing 3:  Now, don’t judge me with the free stuff comment.  Yes I’m excited to get free t-shirts, sweatshirts, bags, and other random crap.  The people who have been to NACA before make the school swap seem like the running of the bulls in Spain.  I can’t wait to start planning our display.  I think we can really do a lot with the NACA theme and with our new University status.  More importantly, I’m also looking forward to sharing ideas with other schools.  I think Bridgewater already has some terrific programs; but, it never hurts to try something new!

Well I did it!  Blog post complete!  Haha.  See you all at Thursdays meeting!  🙂

4 thoughts on “First Blog Post Ever!!! :)

  1. Loryn – great blog post! No worries about the free stuff – who doesn’t love free stuff? Plus, free stuff means new ideas.

    I’m really happy you are excited about the educational sessions. Have you started looking at any of the sessions yet? Do you know which ones your might be interested in to help your development? What about to enhance PC?

    1. Hey Loryn,
      I definitely agree with you about the Ed Sessions, they are my favorite part of NACA because it really helps us to bring new ideas back to our campus and it’s exciting to see them grow as we develop them futher.

  2. Hey Loryn

    Like you This is my 1st blog EVER!! Its exciting yet nerve wracking knowing that someone else is going to read it. But you did a great job!! I can’t wait to get to know you a little better…

Leave a Reply

